WELCOME
ONLINE REGISTRATION
DEADLINES
PROGRAMME
CONTACT

GfÖ Annual Meeting 2019 September 09 to 13, 2019 in Münster, Germany


Dear Colleagues,

we cordially invite you to the 49th Annual Meeting of the Ecological Society of Germany, Austria and Switzerland in Münster.

The Institute for Landscape Ecology at the University of Münster traditionally collaborates closely with a range of conservation organizations, agriculture, forestry and practitioners and involves them in academic research projects. The 49th Annual Meeting is therefore held under the motto "Science meets practice" and aims to stimulate exchange between the academic ecological community and practitioners in order to find applied solutions to environmental problems. The Local Organising Committee covers a wide range of ecological topics, from classical organismic ecology, nature conservation issues and functional biodiversity research to air quality problems and research on biogeochemical processes in aquatic and terrestrial systems. We are pleased to use the 49th Annual Meeting of the GfÖ as an interdisciplinary platform to discuss the challenges of our time with scientists from a broad range of ecological disciplines from September 09 to 13, 2019.

In order to illustrate the collaboration between science and practice in our programme, this year's "Practitioner's day" will take place on Tuesday, September 10. Of course, fundamental research will also be well represented in a total of 40 thematic sessions, with around 385 oral presentations and 198 posters. The scientific programme will also be enriched by workshops and panel discussions.

We are especially looking forward to the highly interesting keynote lectures by Julie Etterson (Duluth, USA), Carly Stevens (Lancaster, UK), Nancy Schellhorn (Brisbane, Australia), Kris Verheynen (Gent, Belgium), Andy Dobson (Princeton, USA) and David Kleijn (The Netherlands).

In addition to the scientific contributions, a varied supporting programme offers plenty of opportunities for exchange. The Ice Breaker on the opening evening will take place in the representative palace of the University of Münster. The Conference Dinner and subsequent Club Night will take place in the iconic "Jovel" at Münster's inland port.

Main venue: Fürstenberghaus, in the historical city center of Münster (Domplatz 20-22, 48143 Münster).

We are looking forward to arranging a stimulating conference and hope that you will be able to participate. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact our conference office at: info@gfoe-conference.de; Local contact person is Julia Tiede: tiedej@uni-muenster.de, +49 251 83 33679

We look forward to welcoming you soon in Münster!

With kind regards,
Norbert Hölzel, Christoph Scherber & Julia Tiede
(on behalf of the organizing committee)

49th Annual Meeting of the Ecological Society
of Germany, Austria and Switzerland
"Science meets practice"
Münster, Germany, September 9-13, 2019
http://www.gfoe-conference.de/

WILLKOMMEN
ONLINE REGISTRIERUNG
DEADLINES
PROGRAMM
KONTAKT

Jahrestagung der GfÖ 2019 – 09. - 13. September 2019 in Münster, Deutschland


Liebe Kolleginnen und Kollegen,

wir laden Sie herzlich nach Münster zur 49. Jahrestagung der Gesellschaft für Ökologie e.V. ein.

Das Institut für Landschaftsökologie der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität (WWU) in Münster arbeitet traditionell eng mit amtlichen und privaten Naturschützer*innen sowie Praktiker*innen aus Land- und Forstwirtschaft und anderen Fachdisziplinen zusammen und bindet diese gezielt in akademische Forschungsprojekte mit ein. Die 49. Jahrestagung der GfÖ zielt unter dem Motto "Science meets practice" darauf ab, den Austausch zwischen der akademischen ökologischen Gemeinschaft und der Praxis zu fördern, um angewandte Lösungen für Umweltprobleme zu finden. Wir freuen uns, die 49. Jahrestagung der GfÖ als interdisziplinäre Plattform zu nutzen um vom 9. bis 13. September 2019 die Herausforderungen unserer Zeit mit Wissenschaftler*innen aller ökologischen Disziplinen zu diskutieren.

Um den Schulterschluss zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis auch in unserem Programm zu verdeutlichen, findet der „Praktiker*innentag“ in diesem Jahr am Dienstag, 10. September, statt. Natürlich kommt auch die grundlagenorientierte Forschung in insgesamt 40 thematischen Sessions, mit 385 Vorträgen und 198 Postern, nicht zu kurz. Das wissenschaftliche Programm wird außerdem durch Workshops und Diskussionsrunden bereichert.

Wir freuen uns besonders auf die hochinteressanten Keynote Vorträge von Julie Etterson (Duluth, USA), Carly Stevens (Lancaster, UK), Nancy Schellhorn (Brisbane, Australien), Kris Verheynen (Gent, Belgien), Andy Dobson (Princeton, USA) und David Kleijn (Niederlande).

Neben den wissenschaftlichen Beiträgen bietet ein vielfältiges Begleitprogramm Möglichkeiten zum Austausch. Der Ice Breaker am Eröffnungsabend findet im repräsentativen Fürstbischöflichen Schloss der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität statt. Zum Konferenzdinner und anschließender Club Night geht es ins kultige „Jovel“ am Münsteraner Binnenhafen.

Hauptveranstaltungsort: Fürstenberghaus in der historischen Altstadt von Münster (Domplatz 20-22, 48143 Münster).

Wir freuen uns auf eine anregende Konferenz und hoffen, dass Sie teilnehmen können. Bei Fragen steht Ihnen unser Tagungsbüro gerne zur Verfügung: info@gfoe-conference.de; Lokale Ansprechpartnerin ist Julia Tiede: tiedej@uni-muenster.de, +49 251 83 33679

Wir freuen uns sehr darauf, Sie bald in Münster zu begrüßen.

Mit den besten Grüßen,
Norbert Hölzel, Christoph Scherber & Julia Tiede
(im Namen des Organisationskomitees)

49th Annual Meeting of the Ecological Society
of Germany, Austria and Switzerland
"Science meets practice"
Münster, Germany, 09 – 13 September 2019
http://www.gfoe-conference.de/